The second round of inductees into the NASCAR Hall of Fame were announced today, Oct. 13, 2010, in Charlotte, N.C., and it should come as no shock that some of the biggest names in the history of Bristol Motor Speedway made the cut.

It's been said many times that the road to the NASCAR Championship more often than not runs through the hills of Northeast Tennessee and Bristol Motor Speedway.

Bobby Allison, Ned Jarrett, car owner Bud Moore, David Pearson and Lee Petty make up class No. 2 and the resumes of this group includes many tests passed on the high banks of BMS.

Proving his ability and willingness to drive anything, anywhere, anytime, Bobby Allison had one of the most diverse careers of any driver in NASCAR and certainly at Bristol Motor Speedway.

In 44 career races at BMS, Allison drove for 14 different owners, including himself, in eight different makes of cars.

He won four times and posted 28 top-10 finishes and had two incredible statistics beyond that.

From 1969 through the spring of 1976, he finished outside the top-five just twice in 13 races. From 1969 through the end of 1985, a span of 30 races, he finished in the top six 24 times.

The grandstands at BMS that reach from the exit of Turn 4 down the front stretch to the entrance of Turn 1, are named for Bobby Allison and the rest of the Allison racing family.

Pearson earned five of his 105 career wins at Bristol. His career winning percentage (105 wins in 574 races) was 18.3. That's incredibly close to winning one of every five races he ran. His percentage at Bristol was more staggering. He ran 20 times at BMS and finished in the top-10 in half of them. What's more unbelievable is his success in the face of mechanical issues. Pearson finished just EIGHT of the race he ran at Bristol - winning FIVE of them.

The grandstand in Turn 1 at Bristol Motor Speedway is named in honor of the man who won at least one race a year for 17 years - the Silver Fox.

A model of consistency, two-time Cup champion Ned Jarrett also had success at Bristol.

Jarrett, who won those two titles in only six "full-time" years of racing at NASCAR’s highest level, raced 12 times at Bristol, finishing in the top 10 seven times and winning in 1965, on his way - no surprise – to the second of his two championships.

He served as honorary starter for the 2008 Food City 500.

Bud Moore’s career as a car owner at Bristol spanned 64 races from 1961-1996 with 21 drivers including some of the biggest names in NASCAR history: Joe Weatherly, Rex White, LeeRoy Yarbrough, Tiny Lund, Bobby Isaac, Buddy Baker, Bobby Allison, Benny Parsons, Dale Earnhardt and Ricky Rudd.

Moore’s No. 8, with Weatherly behind the wheel, won the second race in BMS history, Oct. 22, 1961. In those 64 races, Moore’s cars finished in the top-10 33 times, earned three poles and led more than 1,600 laps.

Injuries prematurely ended Lee Petty’s career, preventing him from participating as a driver. But his presence at the half-mile was prevalent as he coached his son, Richard.

Congratulations to all of the new inductees and their families.