In honor of today’s date, 12-12-12, the last time we will see such a combination of month, day and year for nearly a century, we have a few interesting tidbits:

The NASCAR Cup race at Bristol has been won from the 12th starting position four times: Jack Smith in the first race in 1961, Jim Paschal (1962), Dale Earnhardt (1985) and Kyle Busch (2011).

The No. 2 has made it to Victory Lane in the Bristol Cup race 12 times – Rusty Wallace (seven), Dale Earnhardt (two), Brad Keselowski (two) and Kurt Busch (one).

Bobby Allison swept both Cup races at Bristol in 1972, starting first and finishing first in both, driving the No. 12.

Darrell Waltrip is the all-time leader at Bristol Motor Speedway with 12 wins.

Happy 12.12.12!